Cichlid Room Companion

通告: 慈鯛魚室同好網系統與編輯室通告.



* 14- 9月-2014
Bentochromis horii被重新驗證

我們已經決定接受Takahashi(2008)的提議來將之前我們指為Bentochromis tricoti的魚種區分為不同的種。該種的模式標本,是在“比利時坦干伊克湖水文生物(1946-1947)”任務期間所採集,那是一種我們未曾見過活體的深水魚種。今天我們將Benthochromis horiiB. tricoti的同義字中移出,這是由Patrick Tawil在2008年所提議的。我們已經重新評估對B. horii的判斷特徵,因為這曾由Thomas Andersen (Andersen, 2013)所建議且目前由Ad Konings (個人通訊)所確認。而B. horii和其他兩種Benthochromis屬魚種之間的差異最好是從嘴巴的角度。在B. horii身上其下頷與體軸呈現約50°的角度而在B. melanoidesB. tricoti身上呈現的角度則約60°。在B. tricoti身上的嘴巴是完全在體軸之下而在B. melanoidesB. horii身上嘴巴則完全在體軸線之上或多於50%在體軸線之上。這幾個種的雄魚也能從其色彩模式來輕易區分。雄性的B. horii是以體側三道淺藍色的,水平縱紋為其特徵且第三道還橫過胸鰭基部。B. melanoides雄魚則缺乏水平縱紋而B. tricoti則只有兩條,且第二條縱紋並無通過胸鰭基部(Andersen 2013)。有關這個種更多的細節請參照種的簡介。.

* 05- 9月-2014
以屬為單位的分布圖

我們現在提供了以屬為單位的分布圖!地圖以每一種被認證的採集地為基礎(過去有的)。每一個種以一種顏色呈現並可在地圖底下找到圖例。幾乎所有的屬現在都已啟用了這個功能,如果沒有的也會盡快加上。我們會以有權威的文獻,現地與博物館藏紀錄中的圖片/影片為基礎持續為物種增加地點。這是接下來數月我們會優先關注的地區。趕快去這個目錄並按下每一個屬簡介的分布標籤吧。.

* 18- 7月-2014
辭彙已新增至慈鯛魚室同好網

今天我們正式發表我們等待多時的辭彙。辭彙的連結可以在左欄索引的目錄和圖書室中發現。我們希望它能派上用場並幫你在有關慈鯛與魚類學有關的術語上得到更好的理解。我們從500個有關生態,分類,種系發生,地理和基本上每一個相關地區的辭彙開始做起。我們會經常增加更多術語,以及更好的功能性。在此大力感謝Piotr Koba在這方面的重大合作。.

* 22- 6月-2014
Malawi cichlids in their natural habitat

我們有特別的供應給身為慈鯛魚室同好網的會員的你。最後30本經典書籍"Malawi cichlids in their natural habitat (3th edition)"在Cichlid Press庫存中,以無可抵抗的價格18 美金!!!出售(要加運費)。這個供應是限時且不再有(這些是最後幾本書)。現在就採取行動!!。要確認你已經登入才能看到這項供應。運費:美國本土: $3.95 美金。世界其他地區: $23.95 美金。.

* 17- 6月-2014
由生態區列出魚種

現在我們將由生態區列出魚種列在目錄中。在多數情況下所列的魚種無論如何是不完整的所以我們會持續對美一種慈鯛增加可信的分佈紀錄,但這對慈鯛分佈賦予一個清楚的影像是個好的開始。這個新用途新增到我們去年才加入的魚種分布地圖中。.

* 06- 5月-2014
上線18年!!

今天慈鯛魚室同好網完成18年的上線。我想感謝這些年來支持過這個網站的你們所有人。這確實讓人驚喜,過了這麼久,還像是開始,我們對於站還是不缺乏新計劃!!有你們的支持這都是可能做到的。我要再次感謝Jon Benn在最初的幾年內給我們這個伺服器空間。.

* 08- 4月-2014
十年的成就

過去這幾天我們已經完成單就慈鯛魚室同好網慈鯛目錄中達到12,000張照片的數量,這還不算網站的其他部分。坦白說,我在1996年創建這個網站時從未夢想能實現這個照片數,尤其是要考慮到這不僅僅是定期的慈鯛照片而已。所有漂亮的照片,多半是由最優秀的水下慈鯛攝影師在天然棲地中所拍攝(非常昂貴的途徑),或如同由世界經典的水族學家在水族箱中所見到牠們展現的獨有狀態。這些照片多已經由個個的專家所鑑定。多年來我們光編輯,分類及上傳五張照片就要花上一小時。現在我自己也很驚訝我們能數完這些我甚至都沒想過能看得到的高價值慈鯛寶藏。當然,這個目標目前設定得更高。感謝你們的支持!!.

* 25- 2月-2014
分佈圖

魚種分布圖目前是根據魚種的狀態來分類地點,綠色是原生的,紅色是外來的,黑色是滅絕,黃色是模式產地。.

* 09- 1月-2014
安全聯結

從今天開始,我們已經建立了一個個人簽署的憑證可在你的電腦和慈鯛魚室同好網之間選擇建立一個安全性的通訊內容(包括討論區和請教Pam子版)。這個憑證的目的並不是具有保證讓你能連上真正的網站的權限(只是如目前一樣),但能在你和我們的伺服器之間有著安全加密。為了能讓這個憑證取得效果你必須要做的是用這個字首 https:// 而不是一般的 http:// 字首來連上慈鯛魚室同好網。因為這個認證是個人簽署的,所以你的瀏覽器無法承認我們有這個權限且會警告你這個事,所以你必須接受這個憑證且要求你的瀏覽器記得這個動作。一但你連上了,你在這個網站的所有瀏覽過程就會被加密。我希望這個功能能對你有用。.

* 27- 9月-2013
為首頁所做的新格式

本著讓慈鯛魚室同好網的資訊能更容易自首頁來訪視的目標,我們重新設計這個具有理想目標的介面。我們希望這個新設計是你喜歡且能獲益。當然也很歡迎評論與建議。感謝您的造訪。.

* 12- 6月-2013
Tropheus In Their Natural Habitat已經可得!

一本由Ad Konings所做的全新書籍 "Tropheus In Their Natural Habitat"精裝本現在已經可從Cichlid Room Companion store取得。在編輯處這本書是如此熱騰騰的(這個下午剛收到)以至於你如果接觸它就會被燙到。用特別的價格得到這個已經廣受好評的成果的副本,目前它只能在Apple iBook中取得。.

* 11- 6月-2013
語言個別搜尋

感謝來自FreeFind的大力支持,這個內部搜尋系統是由FreeFind所提供讓你能找到在慈鯛魚室同好網的每一部分且目前有語言的個別選擇。這個意思是,如果你要造訪例如西班牙語言頁面,用這個搜尋系統就會只產生西班牙語版的頁面(或當無翻譯內容可得時當然就是英文頁面).

* 06- 6月-2013
慈鯛分佈圖

一種令人振奮的新功能目前已能在慈鯛魚室同好網使用;魚種分布圖現在已經附加在魚種簡介中!!我們目前已經完成整個坦干伊克湖的地點;對魚種的分布情形是以圖片或豐厚的參考書目來支持。分配給坦干伊克湖的數千或慈鯛產地目前已經繪製在地圖上做為所有的坦干伊克慈鯛之用。我們將會繼續提供這個功能給馬拉威慈鯛,和之後的所有慈鯛魚種!我們希望妳儘可能享受這個我們開發的新功能。因為你的支持所有都會成為可能。.

* 18- 3月-2013
一萬張慈鯛照片

我想要與大家分享一件事,就是在最近幾天來在慈鯛魚室同好網慈鯛目錄中的慈鯛照片(除了棲地照片中的,文章,討論區等的之外)已經達到10,000張!這個讓我們感到是個相當的成就並想要與大家一起慶賀。我們非常高興我們能提供你,我們的支持者們,這種空前的服務!這些在CRC目錄中的照片,你要知道,並不只是任何奇怪的快照,它們多數是自天然棲地中所拍攝且所有的照片都是從任何特定魚種所取得的最佳品質成果,而且多是來自世界上最佳的慈鯛攝影師所拍攝。在某些情況中我們有某些魚種的照片未曾在其他地方出現過且有許多是首次發表做為無名物種的插圖之用。除了這些之外,我們的目錄是世界上所能取得的最具可信度的慈鯛身分資源,我們的照片目前有90%都是已被慈鯛界的許多頂尖學者保證是圖示在正確物種上。當然達到這樣的目標不意味著我們現在可以鬆懈;相反的,它讓我們重新有能量持續不懈在這個工作上,即每一天都發表有關慈鯛的新照片和新資訊。對於在慈鯛魚室同好網這個付出中盡一份心力的人獻上由衷的感謝!.

* 29- 8月-2012
公共領域的PDF文件可為註冊用戶所用

從今天開始我們很高興來提供我們註冊用戶能夠直接自慈鯛魚室同好網連結引用許多歸類在公共領域的PDF文件。這些文件可藉由擊點顯示在引用文獻左邊的adobe PDF標誌就可輕易申請(當該PDF檔可得時)。這包括一些難以取得的非常古老的慈鯛論文。如果你有知道我們可以提供的公共領域文件請讓我們知道且我們會樂於將它含括在我們的文庫中。.

* 29- 1月-2012
為引用文獻所作的交互連結

慈鯛魚室同好網會員目前有新功能可用。按下任何頁面所顯示的每一個引用文獻編碼,你就可以連結到文獻引用的報導,還有它的摘要,還有更重要的,引用文獻還互連到文獻中所包含的屬和種的描述,以及文獻中論述的種與其地區的名錄,還有歸類在文獻中的第一個分類紀錄名錄,可以給你更好的引用文件內容的見解。確定你已登入已能訪問這個報導。.

* 02- 1月-2012
慈鯛魚室同好網的新夥伴:Patrick Tawil

我很驕傲的宣布我們在慈鯛魚室同好網又有一位新夥伴 ,Patrick Tawil。由於他廣博和無私的協助而讓這個網站一天比一天更好,因為他提供上百張優質圖片和填寫了眾多的馬拉威湖與坦甘依克湖慈鯛的簡介,也因為他天天協助了網站的發展.

* 29-12月-2011
世界淡水生態區

從今天開始慈鯛魚室同好網依照由世界野生生物基金會和自然保育聯盟所整合的世界淡水區的區域標準以顯示慈鯛的分佈,用以取代我們原有的水系頁面。在這裡面,所有慈鯛產區將會包括在牠們相對應的生態區,我們相信這將會給慈鯛物種的相關性一個更好的理解,也讓這些生態區的資訊與我們擁有的資訊的交叉結合變得可能,並給予更合理的知識基礎和更健全的工作標準.

* 05-12月-2011
以不可思議的價格得到Malawi cichlids in their natural habitat (4th edition)這本書(僅限會員)

在限時內服務廣大的慈鯛魚室同好網會員,你可以獲得一份精美的書籍Malawi cichlids in their natural habitat (4th edition),沒錯就是最新的一版!這本由Ad Konings 所寫的書以不可思議的價錢,還有較低的運送費用來供應(我們以氣泡紙包裝且不加收任何費用)。本書是馬拉威慈鯛資訊的瑰寶且你不會在其他地方找到這種優惠價。這項供應僅慈鯛魚室同好網會員可得,每人可購買一本。這項供應只到12月26日或售完庫存為止。現在就得到這個好處!請確認你已登入而能看到這個折扣價。.

* 07-11月-2011
新增臉書評論至CRC文章和專欄

你現在能新增臉書評論至慈鯛魚室同好網文章和專欄文件中(如編輯室),你可以在本網每個文件底部找到這個表格以完成這目的,我希望這能用得上!.

Cichlid Room Companion

NOTIFICATIONS: Cichlid Room Companion system and editorial notifications.



* 18-Jul-2014
A glossary added to the Cichlid Room Companion

Today we officially make public our long awaited glossary. Links to the glossary can be found in the catalog and library left-bar indexes. We hope it can be of use and help in obtaining a better understanding on the terms related to cichlids and ichthyology in general. We are starting our glossary with 500 terms related to ecology, taxonomy, phylogeny, geology, and basically every related area. We will be adding often more terms, as well as better functionality. A big thanks to Piotr Koba for his important collaboration in this endeavor.

* 22-Jun-2014
Malawi cichlids in their natural habitat

As a member of the Cichlid Room Companion we have a very special offer for you. The last 30 copies of the classic book "Malawi cichlids in their natural habitat (3th edition)" in Cichlid Press stock, at an unbeatable price of 18 USD!!! (plus shipping). This offer is for a limited time and not coming back (these are the last books available).

Take action now!!. Make sure you are logged in to see the offer.

Shipping cost: United states: $3.95 USD. Rest of the world: $23.95 USD.

* 17-Jun-2014
Species listed by ecoregion

We now list cichlid species by ecoregion in the catalog. The species list in most cases is however incomplete as we are continually adding reliable distribution records for each cichlid species, but it is a good start to give a clear image of cichlid distribution. This new utility adds to species distribution maps that we added last year.

* 06-May-2014
18 year online!!

Today the Cichlid Room Companion makes 18 years online. I want to thank all of you that have supported the site over all these years. It is really amazing, and after all this time, like in the beginning, we are not short of new projects for the site!! All is possible with your support. I want to thank again Jon Benn who gave me the server space and support during the first years.

* 08-Apr-2014
Decimal achievement

In the past days we have achieved to reach the staggering number of 12,000 pictures in the Cichlid Room Companion cichlid catalog alone, besides those in all other areas of the site. Frankly, when I started the site in 1996 I never dreamed to achieve this number of pictures, particularly taking into consideration that these are not just any regular cichlid picture. All are beautiful pictures, most of them are taken in natural habitats by the best underwater cichlid photographers (a very expensive approach), or they show particular conditions in a home aquarium as seen by world class aquarists. Most are already determined by qualified specialists. For many years it took me an hour just to edit, classify and upload five of these pictures. I am now myself amazed that we can count with this highly valuable cichlid treasure I didn't even think it would be possible for me to see. Of course, the goal is now set higher. Thanks to all of you for your support!!.

* 25-Feb-2014
Distribution maps

Species distribution maps now classify localities according to the status of the species, green for native, red for exotic, black for extinct, yellow for type locality.

* 09-Jan-2014
Secure connections

Beginning today, we have established a self-signed certificate to optionally establish secure communications between your computer and the Cichlid Room Companion site (including the forum and Ask Pam sections). The purpose of this certificate is not to have an authority to guarantee you that you have connected to the real site (just as it is now), but to securely encrypt the communications between you and our servers. To be able to take advantage of this certificate all you have to do is use the prefix https:// instead of the regular http:// prefix when connecting to the Cichlid Room Companion. As the certificate is self-signed, your browser won’t recognize us as authority and will warn you about it, all you have to do then is to accept the certificate and ask the browser to remember the action. Once you have connected, all your browsing in the site will be encrypted. I hope this functionality can be of use to you.

* 27-Sep-2013
New format for home page

With the aim to make the information in the Cichlid Room Companion more easily accessible from the home page, we have fully re-designed the interface with this goal in mind. We hope this new design is of your liking and benefit. Comments and suggestions are of course welcomed. Thanks for visiting us!.

* 12-Jun-2013
Tropheus In Their Natural Habitat available!

The brand new book by Ad Konings "Tropheus In Their Natural Habitat" hard copy is now available from the Cichlid Room Companion store. It is so hot at the editorial house (just received this afternoon) that it burns if you touch it. Get your copy of this already acclaimed work at a special price, until now just available as an Apple iBook.

* 11-Jun-2013
Language specific search

Thanks to the great support from FreeFind the internal search boxes powered by FreeFind that you find everywhere in the Cichlid Room Companion are now language specific. That means, if you are visiting for example an Spanish language page, using the search box will produce only Spanish version pages (or the English pages when a translation is not available of course).

* 06-Jun-2013
Cichlid distribution maps

A new exciting utility is now available in the Cichlid Room Companion cichlid catalog; species distribution maps are now attached to species profiles!! We have now completed feeding all Lake Tanganyika localities; the distribution for species is backed up by pictures in site or solid references. Thousands or cichlid locality assignations for Lake Tanganyika are now plotted on maps for all Tanganyikan species. We will now continue to offer this utility for Lake Malawi cichlids, and subsequently all cichlid species! We hope you enjoy this new utility as much as we did developing it. All this is possible because of your support.

* 18-Mar-2013
Ten thousand cichlid pictures

I want to share with you the fact that in the past few days the active cichlid pictures (besides those of habitats, articles, forum, etc) in the Cichlid Room Companion cichlid catalog has reached the staggering number of 10,000!. This we feel is quite an achievement and wanted to celebrate with you. We are very happy that we can provide you, our supporter, with this never-before-available service! The pictures in the CRC catalogue, as you know, are not just any odd snapshots; most of them were taken in the natural habitat and all of them are of the best quality available for any given fish, and most were taken by the best cichlid photographers in the world. In some cases we have pictures of species not illustrated anywhere else and in many more we were the first to illustrate obscure species. Besides all this, our catalog is the most trusted cichlid identification resource available in the world, as so far 90% of our pictures have been certified to illustrate the correct species by some of the world’s top authorities in cichlids.

Of course reaching this goal is by no means an indication that we can now relax; on the contrary, it gives us renewed energy to continue tirelessly in this undertaking, i.e. publishing new photos and information on cichlids every single day.

Thanks so much for being part of this endeavor that is the Cichlid Room Companion!.

* 29-Aug-2012
Public domain PDF documents available for registered users

Beginning today we are happy to offer our registered users the possibility to directly link from the Cichlid Room Companion references many PDF documents classified as public domain. Those can be easily requested by clicking on the adobe PDF sign shown at the left of the reference (when the PDF file is available). This includes some hard to get very old papers on cichlids. If you know of a public domain document that we can offer please let us know and we will gladly include it in our library.

* 29-Jan-2012
Cross-links for references

A new utility is now available for members of the Cichlid Room Companion. Clicking on the code of every reference shown in any page, you will link to a report of the reference citation, its abstract, and more importantly, the reference cross-links to genera and species descriptions included in the reference, the species and locality list of the species treated in the reference, as well as a list of first taxonomic records attributed to the reference, which will give you a much better view of the content of the referenced document. Make sure you are logged in to be able to access the reports.

* 02-Jan-2012
New fellow in the Cichlid Room Companion: Patrick Tawil

I am proud to announce that we have a new fellow in the Cichlid Room Companion, Patrick Tawil. For his extensive and unselfish help to make this site every day better, providing hundreds of quality pictures and filling numerous lakes Malawi and Tanganyika cichlids profiles, and for his day to day assistance in the development of the site.

* 29-Dec-2011
Freshwater Ecoregions of the World

Beginning today the Cichlid Room Companion is abiding to the standard of areas put together by the World Wildlife Fund and the Nature Conservancy as Freshwater Ecoregions of the World to show cichlid distribution, replacing our drainages page. With this, all cichlid localities will be included in their corresponding ecoregion, which we believe will give a better understanding of cichlid species relationships, and will make possible to cross-link the information about those ecoregions with our own, giving a more sound base of knowledge and a strong standard to work with.

* 05-Dec-2011
Get Malawi cichlids in their natural habitat (4th edition) book at an unbeateable price (just members)

For a limited time and as a service to the Cichlid Room Companion members, you can get one copy of the beautiful Malawi cichlids in their natural habitat (4th edition), yes the more recent edition!! book by Ad Konings at an unbeatable price, and a low shipping cost (we ship in a padded envelope and you can't find this price anywhere). This book is a gem of Malawi cichlids information and you won't find it anywhere at such low price. This offer is just available for Cichlid Room Companion members, who can now get up to one copy each. The offer is available until Dec-26 or until we run out of stock. Take advantage of this offer now! Please make sure you are logged in to see the discount price available.

* 07-Nov-2011
Add facebook comments to CRC articles and columns

You can now add facebook comments to the Cichlid Room Companion articles and column documents (like the editorial), for this purpose you can find a form at the bottom of each document, I hope this can be of use!.

* 21-Oct-2011
New section: Match the ID

We are very proud to announce the opening of our "Match the ID" cichlid game, where you will be able to test your knowledge of the species of cichlids, by correctly identifying them when presented with a picture (determined by a cichlid expert). How good are you identifying them? It may not be that easy! Enjoy and learn!!.

* 16-Oct-2011
Get Malawi cichlids in their natural habitat (3th edition) book at an unbeateable price (just members)

For a limited time and as a service to the Cichlid Room Companion members, you can get one copy of the beautiful Malawi cichlids in their natural habitat (3th edition) book by Ad Konings at an unbeatable price, and a low shipping cost. This book is a gem of Malawi cichlids information and you won't find it anywhere at such a low price. This offer is just available for Cichlid Room Companion members, who can now get up to three copies each (have you thought about a great Christmas gift for a dear cichlid buddie?). The offer is available until Oct-31. Take advantage of this offer now! Please make sure you are logged in to see the discount price available.