Rookie

Q&A about cichlids in community tanks

Moderator: Pam Chin

fishrev

Rookie

Post by fishrev »

Hi,
I'm just getting started, so my questions may seem elementary. I am really excited about this, but am taking my time to learn how to do it right. Since my tank won't be here for another week, I've been surfing the net was pleased to find such a specialized forum. I hope you can give me good advice from the get go. I also know that while there is much science to fish keeping, sometimes it's just luck.

My tank is 28 gallons. I know I will need to thoroughly cycle it and make sure my water is right before adding fish. I have been told at the fish store that I can have 2 - 4 blue rams, 6 serpae tetra and 6 cardinal tetra in my tank if I am attentive to water quality, plenty of cover... I will have easy access to weekly water testing. I am also told to include bottom eater and algae eater fish. So here are my questions:
1. Is this combination of fish a good plan? I saw the blue rams and the serpae in the same tank at the fish store. Nobody was eating or nipping anybody else. I have seen some forums that discourage starting with cichlids, and others that say it is okay.
2. Are these good numbers of the various kinds of fish? If not, what do you suggest?
3. I'm not interested in reproduction, so what gender(s) of blue rams should I get? Do they need to be in pairs or could I get 3 males?
2. Which fish do I introduce to the tank first? I've been advised both to let the blue rams find their niche before introducing the community fish to prevent territory disputes and to introduce the community fish first. So, I guess you will be the tie breaker here.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Pam Chin
Site Admin

Re: Rookie

Post by Pam Chin »

Hi Fishrev,

How exciting to set up a new tank. I am glad to hear you have done your research, sounds like you are on the right path.