Mâle au récif de Gallireya
Petrotilapia xanthos mâle au récif de Gallireya, lac Malawi [Malawi].Photo de Ad Konings. identifié par Ad Konings

Famille
Cichlidae

Sous-famille
Pseudocrenilabrinae

Genre
Petrotilapia

Statut
valide


Rédacteur

Publié:

Dernière mise à jour le:
04-juil.-2011

Petrotilapia xanthos Lundeba, Stauffer & Konings, 2011


Traducteur: Florent de Gasperis (05-juil.-2011)

Décrit initialement sous Petrotilapia xanthos:

ZooBank:C5DCC173-98C4-437D-AF03-61408E4EAF82.

  • Lundeba, Mary & J.R. Stauffer Jr. & A. Konings. 2011. "Five new species of the genus Petrotilapia (Teleostei: Cichlidae), from Lake Malawi, Africa". Ichthyological Explorations of Freshwaters. v. 22(n. 2), pp. 149-168 (crc03458) (résumé)

Conservation: Petrotilapia xanthos est évalué par l'Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature dans la Liste Rouge des espèces menacées comme étant (NT) Presque menacée (2018). . Il est seulement trouvé parmi les rochers de forme irrégulière du récif de Gallireya et les pêcheurs ne manieront jamais leurs filets là craignant qu'ils s'accrochent sur les arêtes vives et les pointes des roches. Bien que P. xanthos ne soit pas menacé par la surpêche, la population est relativement petite et devrait être considérée comme Vulnerable.

SVP connexion pour voir la fiche complète. Vous pouvez la voir ainsi que toutes les autres fiches, photos et vidéos, en devenant abonné de Cichlid Room Companion. Abonnez-vous et recevez un livre de la valeur de votre abonnement!Vous pouvez aussi ouvrir la fiche complète de tout le monde par sponsorisez ce cichlidé et aidez Cichlid Room Companion

Male at Gallireya Reef
A male of Petrotilapia xanthos at Gallireya Reef, Lake Malawi [Malawi].Photo by Ad Konings. determiner Ad Konings

Family
Cichlidae

Sub-family
Pseudocrenilabrinae

Genus
Petrotilapia

Status
valid


Curator

Published:

Last updated on:
04-Jul-2011

Petrotilapia xanthos Lundeba, Stauffer & Konings, 2011


Original description as Petrotilapia xanthos:

ZooBank:C5DCC173-98C4-437D-AF03-61408E4EAF82.

  • Lundeba, Mary & J.R. Stauffer Jr. & A. Konings. 2011. "Five new species of the genus Petrotilapia (Teleostei: Cichlidae), from Lake Malawi, Africa". Ichthyological Explorations of Freshwaters. v. 22(n. 2), pp. 149-168 (crc03458) (abstract)

Conservation: Petrotilapia xanthos is evaluated by the international union for the conservation of nature in the iucn red list of threatened species as (NT) near threatened (2018). . It is only found between the irregularly-shaped rocks of Gallireya Reef and fishermen would never ply their nets there fearing that they will get snagged on the sharp edges and points of the rocks. Although P. xanthos is not threatened by overfishing, the population is rather small and should be listed as Vulnerable.

Please login to view the full profile. See this and all other species profiles, pictures and videos by becoming a subscriber of the Cichlid Room Companion. Become a subscriber and get a free book the same value of your membership!you can also open the full profile for everyone to see by sponsor this cichlid species and support the cichlid room companion